Rhein-Main –  A European Metropolitan Region

The German government's Conference of Ministers für Spatial Planning [Ministerkonferenz für Raumordnung (MKRO)] has identified eleven metropolitan regions in Germany. European metropolitan regions are the motors of economic, societal and cultural development. These regions are responsible for keeping Germany working and competitive. In the future, they will play an even more important role in global competition between regions. From an economic viewpoint, they are the crossroads in the global flow of goods and capital, job distribution, and the ever-faster exchange of information and goods. They are the centers where commercial (and also political) decisions are made. European metropolitan areas are also the hubs for people on the move, places where people from many nations can meet.

The Rhine-Main area is one such European metropolitan region. In the competition between regions, the Frankfurt/Rhine-Main region is clearly one of the leading regions Not only in Germany but also in Europe.


The Rhine-Main Area Today

The Rhine-Main region has an incredibly strong commercial dynamic. Its main industries range from traffic and logistics, financial and consulting to high-tech sectors such as the automotive, chemical/pharmaceutical/biotechnology, automation and material processing industries. All in all, there are 2.7 million jobs here producing a GDP of almost Euro 33,500 per person: one of the highest in all of the German regions.

The Rhine-Main region has an international character. Its population of 5.3 million includes not only "natives" but also people from all over the world. Appealing cities and towns, recreational areas and a rich cultural pallette provide a high quality of life for residents and visitors alike.

Source: Planungsverband Ballungsraum Frankfurt/Rhein-Main
[Planning Committee for the Metropolitan Frankfurt/Rhine-Main Area]



The metropolitan region is defined as reaching from Giessen in the north to the Bergstrasse district in the south, from the western Mainz-Bingen area to the eastern Aschaffenburg district. It includes parts of the German states of Rhineland-Palatinate, Hessen and Bavaria. It has seven "city districts":  Frankfurt am Main, Wiesbaden, Darmstadt, Offenbach, Mainz, Worms, and Aschaffenburg, as well as 17 multi-city districts. The region boasts a total of 445 municipalities.